Just Do It-that Nike Slogan

image

 

 

 

Several years ago, 26 to be exact, Nike launched an AD campaign entitled “Just Do It.”AD week’s article on the brand’s legend expresses the insinuations of the slogan aptly;

‘It’s worth noting that Just Do It is not a typical feel good marketing tagline. There’s a hard edged suck-it-up aspect to the phrase that runs counter to most advertising pablum. It’s empowering but makes no promises, implying, in fact, that tough hard work and personal sacrifice might be involved,’

 

Procrastination and indecision are often the greatest killers of potential, mainly because the individual who is indecisive and procrastinates never actually gets much done. The apostle Paul at great personal sacrifice at the command of Christ endured a broad range of hardships to bring the gospel to the gentile world. Paul was often insulted, beaten and experienced bad travelling condition to fulfil his calling.

 

2 Corinthians 23-31
23 Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. 24 Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. 25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, 26 I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my own countrymen, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false brothers. 27 I have laboured and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. 28 Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn? 30 If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness. 31 The God and Father of the Lord Jesus, who is to be praised forever, knows that I am not lying.

 

He was a man of action who made no bones about his situations as much as we modern-day children of God do, who at times waste away in inaction waiting for the perfect day to do what we were told to do yesterday. Paul states his ethos and belief clearly when he states to the Philippians;

 

Philippians 4:13

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

 

I was once asked why I walk such great distances. The easy answer was because I didn’t have enough money to travel but the deeper reason was even when I did I chose to so that I put myself in a pressurised situation that demands self-discipline and endurance-to get home I’d have to muster my strength and push hard no matter the weather come sun or storm till I made it home. Hebrews talks of a similar scenario where every individual in Christ is doing this.

 

Hebrews 12:1

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.

 

We need to throw off everything that hinders us-laziness, fear, indecision, procrastination and others by the power of Christ and run the race before us.

That means doing good things we said we’d do, that project that we never get round to doing, the family member you said you’d make amends with.

 

Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

 

These things we are being instructed to dwell on and think about isn’t done out of an agenda to brainwash people to be mindless individuals but rather people who are unique, thoughtful and with their unique ability that God has given them spread love in one form or another to benefit the greater whole that they are a part of. What on person dwells on he usually puts into practise.

 

Luke 6:45

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.

 

Jesus here goes as far as making a connection between thoughts and words and ultimately actions. What we allow to rest on our minds is important and if we don’t nurture our minds with the right attitude that enables God to use you it will become, excuse the pun ‘use-less’.

 

Jesus made it clear that you are either useful or useless. There isn’t a middle ground of potential that may or may not be useful. To those who cooked with salt and used salt to preserve food they understood Jesus pretty clearly when he used salt as his metaphor to convey the big picture.

Matthew 5:13

You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavour, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men

My sister has a habit of not cleaning takeaway boxes properly when she washes up. When I go to use I realise it can’t be used because it’s got smudges and last night’s dinner’s whiff all over it. The box isn’t getting a pass grade by me, it’s either getting thrown away or washed again but it definitely can’t be used until it’s suitable-there is however no middle ground and it’s the same with us.

 

In life there is rarely a middle ground, it just won’t give you that luxury and if there is it’s usually very uncomfortable. Tough hard work and personal sacrifice is worth it, Jesus is worth it because he saved us when we weren’t. Let’s strive and Just Do It!

 

 

 

Footnotes

Nike in greek mythology was actually the goddess of victory so you can see the appeal to some sporting athletes who chose the brand.

Leave a Reply

